The mission of The United Methodist Church is to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.

All US Jurisdictional Conferences for 2020 are postponed

Dear Delegates and reserves.

I want to let you know that we received news that all US Jurisdictional Conferences for 2020 are postponed.

Once the dates for the General Conference are finalized, the Council of Bishops will set the date for the Jurisdictional Conference. The plan is for the Commission on General Conference and the Council of Bishops to release a combined announcement of both dates in the very near future.

There are many, many questions about what this means for the work of the Jurisdictions now through the next Jurisdictional Conference in 2021. While there are lots of questions the answers are unknown. The UMC has never been in this situation before.

As soon as there are specific answers to the myriad of questions, I will share them with you.

For now I wanted you to know about the postponement of the Jurisdictional Conference. Also, the General Church Committees, Boards will continue until we do meet. This means that the SCJ Mission Council and the Episcopacy Committee will remain in place until we meet and can elect new members of the committees.

As far as hotel reservations, we will take care of the The Waterway Marriott and the Westin Hotel reservations, and you will just need to take care of any airline reservations you may have made.

I know that even beyond Jurisdictional and General Conference concerns and questions, we are living in the midst of hurting, scared and worried communities. God will take care of the General and Jurisdictional Conference in God’s time.

Much more important than spending time wondering about future meetings, let us join together in continuing to pray for the hurting people in our families, in our churches and communities and in God’s world.

Blessings to each of you as we journey this week toward Easter!


New UMW SCJ UMW Officer & Director Elections

The 2020 “Calling u” Quadrennial SCJ Event in Little Rock, Arkansas, may have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, yet the 2016-20 leadership team worked extremely hard for 4 years planning and then un-planning this event that never was. Many thanks to these dedicated UMW leaders pictured above.

Officer & Director nominations took place July 20, 2020, and the new 2020-24 SCJ UMW Officers are listed to the right. View their photos and bios by clicking on the green “New 2020-24 Officers” button to the right. Below are the new 2020-24 Directors:


  • Central Texas – Darlene R Alfred
  • North Texas – Cynthia Rives
  • New Mexico – Daryl June Joe
  • Great Plains – Louise Niemann


  • Arkansas – Lynn Baker
  • Rio Texas – Cynthia Johnson
  • President – Ellen Lipsey
  • Vice President – Cynthia Alfred Logan
  • Secretary – Lynne Grandstaff
  • Treasurer – Carroll Constant
  • C.O.Nominations Chair – Lisa Maupin
  • Committee on Nominations:
    • Terry Gregory
    • Cynthia R. Harry
    • Marcia Butcher
    • Maria Heredi